A Few Things I Love About Haifa

By Nadine Gerach, a student of MA program in International Business Administration (MBA), 2019-2020 Cohort.


It’s been a little more than two months now since I arrived to Haifa and I absolutely love it!

Today I’m talking about my favorite things so far in Haifa.

First of all, living on campus is so much better than expected. I chose to live in Talia Dorms at least for the first few months while I’m studying, to get to know the university, being close to classes and so on. Together with five other international students we share an apartment and I absolutely love it. All of us come from different countries and we get along really well, which is pretty exceptional.

One of the things I appreciate a lot about the University of Haifa is its location on top of Mount Carmel. The views are breathtaking! (And for those who follow me or @univhaifagrad on Instagram will frequently see a looot of beautiful views.) Exiting the apartment and walking towards the main buildings of the university, passing the tennis courts, you will find a beautiful view of the Kiryot to your right. Now in winter the weather changes a lot and also it is quite windy up on the mountain but still I never get tired of the panorama we enjoy up here.

Alright, the view is not the only thing I like about Haifa! Taking a bus into the city soon lets you realize that the weather actually is not as cold in the city as on the mountain. Another favorite of mine during December is the German Colony: a must-go. Especially the Ben-Gurion Street is creatively decorated with all sorts of lights, celebrating the holiday season. At the foot of the mountain, below the Bahai Gardens, a famous monument can be seen every winter in Haifa: a decorated Christmas tree, a Hannukia and a half-moon, all next to each other. They symbolize that people from the three big religions live peacefully with each other here in Haifa. It’s a wonderful experience walking through the streets during December and I totally love the atmosphere!

Last but not least, another favorite is for sure the food. Call it Hummus, Falafel or Shawarma and fresh, delicious fruits from the shuk are just a few culinary highlights that I wouldn’t want to miss!

Leave a comment