How MA in Statistic launched my career

I received my Master of Arts with highest honors in Biostatistics (2009), and Ph.D. in Biostatistics (2016) under the guidance of Professor Ori Davidov from the Department of Statistics at Haifa University.

During my studies I have enjoyed warm and welcoming environment. The courses offered were highly engaging and provided solid theoretical and practical knowledge and skills. The academic and administrative staff was always supportive and available for consultation. The Department of Statistics also provided a unique opportunity for practical experience through the Statistical Consulting Unit. Following my husband’s work, our family had relocated to Boston, Massachusetts. The knowledge I gained during my coursework, research and practical work provided me with a variety of opportunities in Boston area, including offers for postdoctoral and research positions at Harvard School of Public Health and Harvard Medical School, as well as Biostatistician positions in the industry.

Currently, I’m working as a Biostatistician at Fresenius Medical Care, the largest dialysis provider in USA. In my role I’m responsible for design and analysis of research studies and quality improvement interventions in collaboration with physicians, epidemiologists and other professionals in the organization. My work includes producing reports and contributing to research publications in professional journals as well as providing statistical consultation to clients and colleagues.

***

From the editor: Sofi has completed her Master’s degree program in Hebrew. In the upcoming academic year of 2017-2018 the University of Haifa is launching the same program in English for both International and Israeli students. Please visit our website for more information on the new Master of Arts program in Statistics.

Leave a Reply

