Celebrating Christmas Away from Home

By Boglárka Kormos, a student of MA program in Child Development, 2016-2017 Cohort.

I was watching him lighting the Hanukkah candles, and it took me to another world. I listened to his deep voice while he was praying to God, and felt like I arrived home. He put the candle in the window so everybody could see its light. And I was so happy to be safe inside, in the right place, and not outside in the dark staring at the candle that promulgated: this house’s tenants already belong to something.

boglarka2
International Students at a Christmas party in the dorms

We celebrated Hanukkah and Christmas at the same time in this year.

Even though I spent Christmas far away from my family for the first time, I celebrated it in a special way. I am lucky to have my international family here with whom I can gather together for these events to keep the tradition, and also was delighted to be involved in Israel’s ancient traditions and feasts.

boglarka1
Boglarka (right) in the German Colony, Haifa

 

Our teachers and professors from the University invited us to eat sufganiyot (that is doughnut) for Hanukkah, and took us to the German Colony in Haifa to feel the Christmas
atmosphere.

I came to Israel to study, but I have gained much more so far.

 

At the end of this year I want to express my gratitude for everything that I got and experienced, especially since I arrived in Israel. I am thankful for the opportunity to study here, for the professors who see the potential in me, and share their knowledge with us, for my new friends who stand by me, and for the new perspectives that influence my life.

Happy new year to all of You!

Leave a Reply

