Student Spotlight: Meghna Girish

By Meghna Girish, a student of MA program in Art Therapy, 2016-2017 Cohort.

meghnaindia
Meghna in India

My name is Meghna Girish and I am from India, the country known for its unity in diversity. I’ve spent all my life in India, in its south – western most state called Kerala. People refer to Kerala as God’s own country with its nature and scenic beauty and palm trees. Last June I completed 21 years of my life.  This would be my second time travelling out of the country and first time being away from home, so it’s quite a special one. I majored in Psychology for my Bachelor’s degree and I did it from a college back in Kerala. By May 2016, I successfully finished my degree.

Someone once said, “Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” I can relate so well to this quote. This entire journey and decision to study in the University of Haifa was indeed faith based. It was a casual comment by my brother that made me check for Master’s programs in Israel. I call it destiny to have found this University and this unique program called Art Therapy. For my final year Seminar, I had picked up the topic of Art Therapy and that was a turning point in my life. Since I love painting and drawing, Art Therapy is the perfect blend of Psychology and Art. I started reading more about the field, how effective and creative it is and how it’s a vital tool for such a time as what we’re living in right now. Hence, when I came across the website for the program, something bubbled up within me shouting “Go for it!! Pursue it!” The fascination towards Mount Carmel and the history behind it further spiced up my interest in joining the University.

meghnahaifaThe program offered here is so unique and remarkable; I love the way it has been structured and how we are given sufficient hours for field work, which is definitely a highlight for me. The training offered on how to apply the theoretical principles and framework to the field is commendable. The education system is different from what I’m used to, but it was easy to catch up. However, adjusting and finding my space in the land of Israel definitely took time and I would say the process is still continuing.

The culture, language, weather and everything about Haifa is so different and new for me. It’s been a month now and I feel more at ease. As for my career and profession, I would want to work and render my services as an art therapist but the question whether I am to be here for a while or go back to my home country still remains. At present I do feel Israel is growing on me and time will tell what’s going to happen further in my story.

Leave a Reply

