Student Spotlight: Alexandru Ilie

By Alexandru Ilie, a student of MA program in Diplomacy Studies, 2016-2017 Cohort.

Hello! My name is Alexandru Ilie and I’m from Bucharest, Romania. I’ve lived most of my life in Bucharest, a fascinating city that combines the old communist buildings with the new glass buildings and graffiti all over together with friendly people and no Dracula, since he’s living in a castle way up in Transylvania.

While in high-school I started being interested in volunteering and began helping out at projects that promote social responsibility and a better coexistence. As a teenager, I learned moral and social values that create a better society and individual.  The world is diverse, its mechanisms are complicated and variable, interests are different, and understanding how national and international relationships work requires thorough training. In my senior high-school year I started reading about international relations and started to attend conferences on this topic whenever I had the chance.

The desire to know more brought me new challenges, so I did my undergraduate in International Relations and European Studies at Titu Maiorescu University in Bucharest. I was part of the organization team for different lectures on national and international topics like conflict management, Romanian diplomacy, European institutions and European legislation.

alex2
Alexandru takes a selfie from atop Mount Carmel

During my undergraduate studies I received two scholarships, Erasmus LLP and Erasmus+ at Canakkale Onsekiz Mart University in Turkey, to study in the international relations department. There I had the opportunity to meet students and teachers from all over the world that helped me discover new perspectives, having interesting debates.

After receiving my bachelor in international relations and European studies I started working for the Federation of Jewish Communities in Romania as a project manager, having the chance to work on projects that promote Jewish culture and identity and establish partnerships with different organizations to always have an open and productive intercultural dialogue that fights against discrimination and promotes common values.

While on the Taglit-Birthright Israel program, I had the chance to travel to Haifa and experience how life is in a city filled with history that promotes diversity and multiculturalism. Ever since then I wanted to come to Haifa, so I went I discovered the chance of joining the University of Haifa and to get my MA in Diplomacy Studies I immediately applied.

alex1
Alexandru (right) exploring Haifa with other International students

During my first month at the University of Haifa I discovered a diverse group of friendly people and great faculty with a lot of experience that is very engaging and gives students all the needed information in order to help them succeed in their goals.   Also, there are quite a lot of of microwaves on campus, so if you have to heat something fast the University has you covered.

After finishing my MA in Diplomacy Studies at the University of Haifa I will look to gain employment for an organization where I can further develop my skills and knowledge in international relations and diplomacy.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

