Alumni Becomes Art Therapist in the UK

Blog post written by Jennifer Turgeman, a graduate of the master’s in Art Therapy, class of 2013. 

Clay

I am a 2013 graduate of the Creative Arts Therapies master’s program, and since then I have moved to the UK six months ago, became a qualified and registered art therapist through HCPC and BAAT in November 2015.

In July 2015, I started doing my “shana gimel” post-graduate internship at Blenheim CDP (prior to being qualified), which is a registered charity in the UK helping adults and families with substance misuse, particularly alcohol and drugs. I have been working at three main centres under Blenheim CDP, offering my services as an art therapy group facilitator with two groups in an alcohol service centre. One group is an open-studio art therapy group and I am due to start working with another group in January 2016 for women only. In addition to my two groups, I am offering one-to-one art therapy to two adults and am soon to start in January 2016 offering dyadic art therapy sessions to two young siblings.

In addition to my work under Blenheim CDP , in the beginning of January 2016, I have started as a freelance art therapist at Mind in Camden. This is a registered charity in the UK which is a day centre offering many different services for referred mental health service users. I have an art therapy group that I run once a week for the service users and it will run till the end of March 2016.

Having had the experience to work in different charities and with different populations enables me to gain so much experience and broaden my art therapy skills. It has also helped me in being able to adapt to different environments and clients’ needs.

If anyone has any questions or would like more information on completing their 3rd year (“shana gimel”) internships in London please get in touch with me at JenniferTurgeman@gmail.com.

______

For more information about the master’s program in Art Therapy, check out the International School website or feel free to email us at infograd@univ.haifa.ac.il.

One thought on “Alumni Becomes Art Therapist in the UK

Leave a Reply

