Sea Us

“Sea US” is the beginning of a series of posts featuring students from around the world who are taking part in this year’s International Maritime Civilization master’s program.

Blog post written by: 

Group_Photo
Ashley, Michelle, Brigid, Pimprenelle, Ariel, and Sara

This year the University of Haifa’s International Maritime Civilization program is host to 6 girls from around the world. The program is an intensive one-year graduate program with a second year for thesis work. Together we study a range of subjects from marine biology to palaeo-sea levels to advanced archaeological field methods. We also participate in archaeological surveys and excavations both on land and underwater. As we wrap up our first semester, we are excited to bring to you our adventures and experiences here in Israel.

Ariel_2Ariel Polokoff
23 years old
From: Connecticut, USA
Previously Studied: B.A. in Archaeology and Art History with a minor in Classical Studies from The George Washington University, Washington, D.C.
Current Studies: Maritime Civilizations in the International program at the University of Haifa
Concentration: Hellenistic and Roman iconography, sculpture, and figurines from the Levant
“Having always loved my previous personal and excavation experiences in Israel, I was eager for the opportunity to study here. Given my interests in both art history and archaeology, the multidisciplinary nature of the Maritime Civilizations program has allowed me the opportunity to combine my interests while doing hands-on object research under the guidance of knowledgeable and supportive advisors.”

Pimprenelle_2Pimprenelle Atlan
25 years old
From: Paris, France
Previously studied: Archaeology at The Sorbonne University and History in Ecole Pratique des Hautes Etudes
Current Studies: Maritime Civilizations in the International School at the University of Haifa
Concentration: Middle Bronze Age Fortifications in Mesopotamia and the Levant
“Thanks to the Masa scholarship I have the opportunity to study here. I am very passionate about the history of Israel and its civilizations. The Maritime Civilizations international master’s program has given me the opportunity to practice my English while participating in classes and excavations. Next year I would like to continue my studies here at the University of Haifa for my Ph.D.”

Sára2Sára Lantos
21 years old
From: Budapest, Hungary
Previous Studies: B.A. in Archaeology from ELTE in Budapest, Hungary
Current Studies: Maritime Civilizations in the International School at the University of Haifa
Concentration: Byzantine towns in the Negev in crisis; CMAS 3* dive certification (dive master/guide)
“As a diver for 12 years, my dream was to study underwater archaeology and then I found the Maritime Civilizations master’s program here at the University of Haifa.  We’re done with our first semester and it was amazing. I know I made a good decision to come here and I love the program.”

Miche_2Michelle Creisher
28 years old
From: Maine, USA
Previous Studies: BA in Classical Languages from the University of Southern Maine; MA in Ancient Greek and Roman Studies from Brandeis University
Current Studies: Maritime Civilizations in the International School at the University of Haifa
Concentration: Petrography of stone anchors as indicators of trade connections during the Bronze and Iron Ages
“I have participated in excavations in Crete at the Bronze Age site of Petras, as well as the Bronze Age palatial site at Kabri, Israel and I will continue to have amazing experiences this summer at the coastal site of Tel Dor in Israel. I love to travel (a cup of hot tea in hand) and I have enjoyed the many opportunities I have had here at the University of Haifa.”

Ashley_1Ashley Goldie Himmelstein
22 years old
From: New York, USA
Previously Studied: BA in Anthropology from Stony Brook University in New York
Current Studies:  Maritime Civilizations in the International program at the University of Haifa
Concentration: Remote sensing methods in coastal archaeology
“I first came to Israel to volunteer at a dig run by the University of Haifa, I fell in love with the school and the people here. So when I applied to master’s programs, going for the Maritime Civilizations program was obvious to me.”

 

Brigid_1Brigid Clark
23 years old
From: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Previously studied: Lycoming College, double major in Archaeology and Culture of the Ancient Near East and Mediterranean and Sociology with an Anthropology concentration, minor in classical studies
Current Studies: Maritime Civilizations in the International school at the University of Haifa
Concentration: Late Bronze Age trade routes in the Mediterranean, Levant, and Cyprus; ceramics
“Thanks to the International program at University of Haifa I am one step closer to pursuing my career goal of becoming a maritime and underwater archaeologist.  As a life-long swimmer and all-around water enthusiast, paired with my love of ancient history and field work, I look forward to participating in academic projects and excavations.  By giving me a diverse background in oceanography, geology, art history, and archaeology, the program has given me the ability to succeed.  After completing my M.A., I plan on continuing my education at a Ph.D. program.”

________

For more information about the master’s in Maritime Civilizations at the University of Haifa, click here or email us at infograd@univ.haifa.ac.il.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

